Is Budapest in the Schengen Area?

by | Mar 7, 2024 | Pub Crawl Budapest

Ready for the ultimate nightlife adventure? Dive deep into the heart of the city’s vibrant scenes with our pub crawl in Budapest. Every stop is a new story, every drink a memory waiting to be made. Get ready for an unforgettable evening!

If you are planning a trip to Budapest or want to understand more about the Schengen Area, you might be wondering whether Budapest is included in the agreement. The short answer is yes, Budapest is part of the Schengen Area. However, let’s delve deeper into what exactly the Schengen Area is and what it means for your travels.

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is a group of European countries that have abolished passport control at their mutual borders, allowing for the free movement of people within the area. It was established in 1985 with the signing of the Schengen Agreement and has expanded over the years to include a total of 26 countries as of 2021.

Some of the countries included in the Schengen Area are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Benefits of the Schengen Area

The Schengen Area offers several benefits for travelers. Once you enter any Schengen country, you can move freely throughout the entire area without the need for further border checks. This means you can explore multiple countries within the Schengen Area without the hassle of going through immigration procedures each time you cross a border.

Additionally, having a single visa for multiple countries makes it easier to plan your trip and saves you time and effort. It also eliminates the need for currency exchange, as most Schengen countries use the euro as their currency.

Entering Budapest

Since Budapest is part of the Schengen Area, if you are a citizen of a country that is also part of the agreement, you can enter Budapest or any other Schengen country with a valid Schengen Visa or residence permit. The visa allows you to stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period.

It’s important to note that while Budapest is in the Schengen Area, it is not the capital of Hungary. The capital is actually Budapest itself. So, when you apply for a visa or plan your trip to Budapest, make sure to consider the country as a whole and not just the capital city.

Visa Requirements

If you are from a country that is not part of the European Union (EU) or the Schengen Area, you will need to apply for a Schengen Visa to visit Budapest. The visa application process may vary depending on your nationality, so it is recommended to check with the Hungarian embassy or consulate in your country for specific requirements.

Border Checks within the Schengen Area

Even though there are no routine border checks within the Schengen Area, it doesn’t mean that you won’t encounter any immigration control. Border checks can still occur, mainly for security reasons or during exceptional situations. It’s essential to carry your travel documents, including a valid passport or ID card, at all times, as officials can request them during spot checks.


Now that you know that Budapest is indeed in the Schengen Area, you can plan your trip with the confidence of easier travel across multiple countries. Remember to check visa requirements, carry your travel documents, and enjoy the freedom of exploring the beautiful cities within the Schengen Area.

Eager for an unmatched evening escapade? Plunge into Budapest’s pulsing nightlife with our iconic pub crawl in Budapest. Each venue unravels a fresh tale, every sip crafts a lasting memory. Prepare for a night like no other!

Is Budapest in the Schengen Area?